

Garfield County Board Minutes



Garfield County Board of Commissioners Record

Burwell, Garfield County, Nebraska

The Garfield County Board of Commissioners met Tuesday, December 13th, 2016 at 1:30 p.m. in the Commissioners Room at the Garfield County Courthouse in Burwell, Nebraska pursuant to public notice posted in three public places & broadcast by KNLV Radio, Ord, NE Chairman Measner called the meeting to order at 1:30 pm with the following Commissioners present: Measner, Krause, and Jeffres.

Motion made by Jeffres to approve the agenda, second by Measner. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none. Motion carried.

Motion made by Jeffres to approve & adopt minutes of last County Commissioners meeting held November 22nd, 2016, second by Measner. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none. Motion carried.

Motion made by Jeffres to approve reimbursement of missed retirement contributions in the amount of \$31.87, made payable to NPERS from Garfield County General Fund, second by Measner. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none. Motion carried.

At 1:31 p.m., Chairman Measner recessed the regular meeting and opened the Board of Equalization. Deputy Assessor Kali Swett presented with Tax List Corrections #443, #444 and #445. Motion made by Measner to approve all Tax List Corrections presented, second by Krause. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none. Motion carried. At 1:32 p.m., Chairman Measner reconvened the regular Commissioners meeting.

Heartland Bank presented the Board with information.

Status of Sheriffs sale will be discussed at next meeting in December, given that Garfield County Attorney is present.

Motion made by Krause to appoint Pam Helgoth to a 3 year term on the County Extension Board, second by Jeffres. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none. Motion carried.

Deputy Clerk Koenigsberg presented the CDC report.

Treasurer Thoene presented the Board with information.

Discussion was held on use of a notary in the court house. Motion made by Measner to allow Sarah Jeffres to utilize her notary seal on legal documents. If people come into the Courthouse and request a notary, she is to keep track of how many people utilized the service and the Commissioners will re-evaluate in four years, second by Krause. Roll call vote: Aye, Measner and Krause; Nay, None; Abstained, Jeffres. Motion carried.

Gary Kinney presented the Board with information. It was discussed that a resolution be drawn up for the December 27, 2016 meeting, to authorize a signer for loan documentation.

Deputy Clerk Koenigsberg presented the Board with her letter of resignation effective December 28, 2016.

Motion made by Measner to go into executive session at 2:20 p.m. for personnel matters, second by Jeffres. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none. Motion carried. Chairman Measner reconvened the regular meeting at 2:30 p.m.

Chairman Measner signed a licensure agreement form for the Burwell Volunteer Fire Department.

Motion made by Measner that from this time forward all minutes are to include substance of all matters discussed and prior to approval of claims and payroll, a detailed summary of payroll will be submitted to the



Garfield County Board Minutes



Board for approval, per suggestion from Attorney Pam Bourne, second by Jeffres. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none. Motion carried.

Clerk Magistrate of Garfield County Court addressed the board with suggestion of moving the server and hardware equipment currently located in the County Clerk's office. She stated that she works different hours then the rest of the county offices and if the server is down, she does not feel comfortable going into another person's office when they are not there. The Board was in agreement that the equipment be in a more accessible location and the public access computer that is currently in a locked office, be in a more accessible location for the public as well. It was suggested that Treasurer Thoene contact the CIO about the situation.

With no further business, Chairman Measner adjourned the meeting at 2:50 p.m.

Attest:		Attest:	
	Stacia Quinn,		Paige Mead Measner,
	County Clerk		Chairman of the Board