Garfield County Board of Commissioners Record

Burwell, Garfield County, Nebraska

This being the Reorganization Meeting, County Clerk Koenigsberg asked for nominations from the floor for the Chairman of the Board for the year 2024. Motion made by Hurlburt to nominate Scott Krause as the Chairman, second by Zulkoski. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none. Koenigsberg turned the meeting over to Chairman Krause. Motion made by Krause to nominate Diana Hurlburt as vice-Chairman for the year 2024, second by Zulkoski. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none.

The Garfield County Board of Commissioners met Tuesday, January 11th, 2024 at 1:30 p.m. in the Commissioners Room at the Garfield County Courthouse in Burwell, Nebraska pursuant to public notice posted in three public places. Chairman Krause called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m. with the following present: Commissioners, Krause, Zulkoski and Hurlburt.

Motion made by Krause to approve the agenda, second by Hurlburt. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none.

Motion made by Hurlburt to approve & adopt minutes of last County Commissioners meeting held December 26th, 2023, second by Zulkoski. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none.

Lee Jeffres, who was appointed to the governing board for the 2023 year, presented with information on changes and a financial statement for the Loup Central Landfill Association.

Tim Rowse, Veteran Service Officer, presented with a quarterly report.

Motion made by Krause to reappoint Gary Kinney as road superintendent for 2024, second by Hurlburt. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none.

Motion made by Krause to reappoint Jimmy Petersen as Weed Superintendent for 2024, second by Hurlburt. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none.

Hurlburt presented with information on possible storage for Region 26 pickup in Garfield County. She was trying to help them out with logistics and ideas for storage and thought if Garfield County might have room to store the vehicle, that may be a possibility. Some options were discussed, but it doesn't appear that the County has any excess storage options at this time.

Resolution 2024-1; Deputy Salaries for 2024. Motion made by Hurlburt to approve Resolution 2024-1, second by Zulkoski. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none.

Resolution 2024-2; Salaries for 2024. Motion made by Krause to approve Resolution 2024-2, second by Hurlburt. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none.

Resolution 2024-3; Committee Appointments for 2024. Motion made by Hurlburt to approve Resolution 2024-3, second by Krause. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none.

Resolution 2024-4; Capital Stock and Surplus Funds. Motion made by Hurlburt to approve Resolution 2024-4, second by Krause. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none.

Resolution 2024-5; Investment of Excess Funds. Motion made by Krause to approve Resolution 2024-5, second by Hurlburt. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none.

Resolution 2024-6; Designate Financial Institutions. Motion made by Hurlburt to approve Resolution 2024-6, second by Zulkoski. Roll call vote: Aye, all; nay, none.

The monthly revenue report and disbursement report for December along with a change in pledged collateral was reviewed, as presented. County Treasurer, Tammy Hitchcock, also presented with the semi-annual statement.

The District Court month end report for December was reviewed as presented.

The Sheriff Quarterly Report was reviewed as presented.

Motion made by Krause to designate The Burwell Tribune as the official county newspaper for 2024, second by Hurlburt. Roll call vote: Aye, all; Nay, none.

Information was presented to the Board on Nebraska Cooperative Liquid Assets Securities System (CLASS). At this time, the County will not participate as recommended by the County Treasurer.

Motion made by Krause to adjourn the meeting, second by Hurlburt. With no further business, Chairman Krause adjourned the meeting at 2:55 p.m.

Attest:	Attest:
Keri L. Koenigsberg,	Scott L. Krause,
Garfield County Clerk	Chairman of the Board